Textures, details and street greens

The one about my latest photographic proclivities

#30DaysWild day 14

Now, confession time. I have developed a little obsession. It’s been coming on for a few months, but grown noticeably in the last week. Some of you may already be aware, you may even have whetted your own appetite.

What I’m talking about is Instagram. No, that’s not the obsession; specifically that niche group of photographers who hunt out close-up details of mundane everyday things around them, especially if they involve rust, peeling paint or tenacious plants growing in unlikely urban settings.

Have a glance at my Instagram feed linked with this blog and you will get a taste. If you have an Instagram account of your own then try searching tags like #rustlord, #primepeel, #street_greens or the one that started me on my quest, #plantsofbabylon. If you get hooked too, just don’t come to me for your money back.

If you like what you see then please by all means follow my modest contributions to the genre on Instagram. I’m @timburkinshaw on Instagram.

 

 

Author: Tim Burkinshaw

I work in ecology and biodiversity in North Yorkshire. I'm often found outdoors snapping nature and landscapes or spotting birds. Always aspiring to be a better naturalist, but I have a particular thing for wetlands. As a gardener I enjoy having my hands in the earth, and getting the perfect mix of greens and browns in my compost! As a Daddy I'm somewhere between pretty good and awesome. On a good day. If you spot me and my hat in real life or on social media do say hello!

7 thoughts on “Textures, details and street greens”

Leave a Reply

