Bramble is the Bees Knees

The one about the tree bumblebees nest and a bounty of bramble flowers.

#30DaysWild #day12

On Monday I got a lift from a colleague to a meeting and he picked me up from Station Car park in Stamford Bridge. I made sure to be there 10 minute early so I could check out the wildflower bank we showed last autumn at the edge of the Old Station Club patio and they are really looking a picture.

What took me by surprise and it was a delightful one, was the quantity of blushing pink flowers on the brambles adjacent to the Sports Hall (former railway good shed – the railway heritage is now featured on smashing interpretation board by the aforesaid wildflower bank). The brambles seemed to be at their peak of flowering and there were bees galore. Furthermore, just opposite in the fabric of the sports hall building itself there must be a substantial social bumblebee nest, probably Tree Bumblebee I’m thinking (Bombus hypnorum). They were ‘dancing’ around the ventilation ports in the fascia board, just like I’ve seen tree bumblebees do around an old birds nest box.

I would like to share a video of the bees; which I will post on The 30 Days Wild Facebook group. This blog site, being the free version of WordPress doesn’t support video unless I pay the premium version, which I’m not ready to do yet. I am a Yorkshireman don’t forget. Anyway my pics are only hurried as my lift turned up and I had a great conversation on the way to our meeting about bees, pollinators, community gardening and ‘Bloom group’ projects.

Author: Tim Burkinshaw

I work in ecology and biodiversity in North Yorkshire. I'm often found outdoors snapping nature and landscapes or spotting birds. Always aspiring to be a better naturalist, but I have a particular thing for wetlands. As a gardener I enjoy having my hands in the earth, and getting the perfect mix of greens and browns in my compost! As a Daddy I'm somewhere between pretty good and awesome. On a good day. If you spot me and my hat in real life or on social media do say hello!

1 thought on “Bramble is the Bees Knees”

Leave a Reply

