A cordial invitation

The one about the elderflower cordial…

#30DaysWild #Day6

Cycling past a hedgerow yesterday near Gate Helmsley I was literally stopped in my tracks by an elder bush in perfect state of flower, the creamy frothy heads of blossom were just at peak freshness. So I pulled up, turned the bike around to park up and rummaged for a bag to collect some in.

I knew I had a trusted cordial recipe at home in my Collins Gem ‘Food for Free’ book, and my recollection as that a batch last time I needed 20 perfectly opened fragrant elderflower heads.

These were put on to steep and the remaining ingredients assembled today added after a 24 hr steep. So tonight, late, I’ve finished off the batch, dissolved sugar and strained the flowers and lemon off to leave a golden syrupy pan-full. Tomorrow morning I shall bottle it.

3EFB6082-352F-4003-884C-05A7DD05CB2C

Author: Tim Burkinshaw

I work in ecology and biodiversity in North Yorkshire. I'm often found outdoors snapping nature and landscapes or spotting birds. Always aspiring to be a better naturalist, but I have a particular thing for wetlands. As a gardener I enjoy having my hands in the earth, and getting the perfect mix of greens and browns in my compost! As a Daddy I'm somewhere between pretty good and awesome. On a good day. If you spot me and my hat in real life or on social media do say hello!

1 thought on “A cordial invitation”

Leave a Reply

